Mender Debian image on Ubuntu Server mini PC / VMware

Hi guys,

I am new to Mender, so please bear with me :smile:

We would like to use the Mender Debian image on an Ubuntu Server box / mini PC, would the procedure be the same as in the documentation?

Also, we would like to try it first on an Ubuntu Server running on VMware, is this also the same as above?

Would greatly appreciate links that you can share, thanks!

Welcome to mender forum. Which documentation youā€™re referring to? IMO if you want to run mender on debian based x86 platform you need first convert debian to suppoprt 2x rootfs + data + add various stuff to grub. For non-x86 board (arm) there is mender-convert project but it doesnā€™t have yet support for x86 (@mirzak pls correct me if Iā€™m wrong). Thanks.

@MarekBelisko Thanks, below is the section of the documentation Iā€™m referring to:

https://docs.mender.io/1.7/devices/debian-family

I have also checked the requirements / general requirements, it seems that Mender or mender-convert do only officially support BeagleBoard and Raspberry Pi.

Does anybody know if x86 + Ubuntu Server can be used? Iā€™ve seen at least one ā€œIntel x86 NUCā€ thread here but so far I cannot make any sense out of it (I guess it was not using Ubuntu).

I have found the Intel NUC thread here:

It uses Yocto and Yocto is supported on Ubuntu 16.04 (LTS):

https://www.yoctoproject.org/docs/current/mega-manual/mega-manual.html#detailed-supported-distros

Does it mean I can follow above to replicate it with Ubuntu on VMware? Just would like to test it first on a VM.

I have also checked the requirements / general requirements, it seems that Mender or mender-convert do only officially support BeagleBoard and Raspberry Pi.

mender-convert only supports BeagleBoard and Raspberry Pi. We support numerous other boards in Yocto. But not sure that this is what you are looking for.

It uses Yocto and Yocto is supported on Ubuntu 16.04 (LTS):