Deployment of Ubuntu Server 16.04 on Raspberry Pi 3 B+

Hi everyone,

I’m new to mender tool and I’m having a problem using mender-convert tool when it comes generating a mender image (.sdimg) from “golden image” Ubuntu Server 16.04 and which is running properly on Raspberry Pi 3 B+.

I have runned the following commands in order to do this:

sudo ./docker-mender-convert raw-disk-image-shrink-rootfs --raw-disk-image input/golden-image-1.img --storage-total-size-mb 8000

sudo ./docker-mender-convert from-raw-disk-image --raw-disk-image “input/golden-image-1.img” --mender-disk-image /home/integrasys/mender-convert/output/golden-image-1.sdimg --device-type “raspberrypi3” --artifact-name “golden-image-1” --bootloader-toolchain arm-buildroot-linux-gnueabihf --server-url “docker.mender.io” --demo --server-cert “./server.crt” --storage-total-size-mb 8000

The output is the following:

*** Data partition size set to default value: 128MB ***
1/10 Shrinking raw disk image root filesystem...
dumpe2fs 1.44.1 (24-Mar-2018)
resize2fs 1.44.1 (24-Mar-2018)
	Root filesystem size:       
	minimal: 2473947136         
	aligned: 2474639360       
	sectors: 4833280
	Raw disk image new endsector: 5103615
	New root filesystem size (sectors): 4833280
2/10 Repartitioning raw disk image...
	Detected raw disk image with 2 partition(s).
	Calculating partitions' sizes of the Mender image.
	Adjust Mender disk image size to the total storage size (8000MB).
	Additional space for rootfs partitions not aligned.         
	Final image will be smaller than 8000MB
	Extracting boot partition from raw disk image.
	Storing data in boot.vfat.
	Extracting root filesystem partition from raw disk image.
	Storing data in rootfs.img.
	Creating blank Mender disk image:       
		image size: 8384413696 bytes       
		boot partition size: 134217728 bytes       
		root filesystem size: 4051697664 bytes       
		data partition size: 134217728 bytes
	Changes in partition table applied.