Pine64

Hello,
I am a cs student trying to build the mender client from source for a arm64 version 8 chip on a pine A64 board however I am having trouble with the build instructions has anyone done a build for the V8 chips and has some advice. I would greatly appreciate it!

Hi,

Please share what you are trying to do and the error you get.

Hello,
Thanks for the quick response. I am trying to build the client from source for this board (https://wiki.pine64.org/index.php/PINE_A64-LTS/SOPine_Main_Page) since I don’t need full OS updates just a single program update periodically, I run through the instructions on the GitHub repo however I am not sure if it is building correctly as it does generate a mender folder however during the build process returns several “Nothing to do” print outs. Once I transfer this to my single board computer in the `/etc/systemd/system’ directory and attempt to run systemctl enable mender && systemctl start mender is says not such file or directory found. I am pretty confused as to if the build is even working or if its how I’m trying to run it on my embedded system. Thank you in advance for any help!

It is still not clear to me what your issues is.

Please share the steps you are trying to perform in detail for us to be able to comment.

Sorry hope this is in more detail,
I start by installing a cross compiler for armV8 aarch64 from sudo apt-get install gcc-aarch64-linux-gnu g+±aarch64-linux-gnu at which point I follow the mender guide on the repo and after cloning execute “export PATH=$PATH:/usr/aarch64-linux-gnu/bin” from within the cloned repo, I then am running “export CC=aarch64-linux” at which point I am running

wget -q https://tukaani.org/xz/xz-5.2.4.tar.gz
tar -xzf xz-5.2.4.tar.gz
cd xz-5.2.4
sudo ./configure --host=aarch64-linux-gnu --prefix=$(pwd)/install
make
make install

it runs and I execute
export LIBLZMA_INSTALL_PATH=$(pwd)/install

at which point I cross compile with