Mender on iMX8 Plus U-Boot Setup Errors

Board description

AvNet IMX8 Plus

Hello,

I’m new to mender and trying to run it in conjunction with a demo server on an avnet imx8 board. After following the instructions in the docs and fixing some other build errors, the build is completing and the built image boots on the board. However, whenever I try to perform an update or mender setup or mender bootstrap I receive the following error:

Failed to read the current active partition: No match between boot and root partitions.

In following the steps from the integration checklist, I noticed that in my /etc/fw_env.config the wrong device is referenced. It initially referenced /dev/mmcblk0 so I changed it to reference the proper device which is /dev/mmcblk1 (this device is shown in the first line of output after running mount). After this change the error expands to the following:

ERRO[0000] Failed to read the current active partition: No match between boot and root partitions.: Failed mender_saveenv_canary check. There is an error in the U-Boot setup. Likely causes are: 1) Mismatch between the U-Boot boot loader environment location and the location specified in /etc/fw_env.config. 2) ‘mender_setup’ is not run by the U-Boot boot script: exit status 1

I am suspecting that it is cause number 2. When I interrupt the board’s boot to enter u-boot config, the printenv command yields entirely different variables than those that appear when I run fw_printenv in the linux environment. So I don’t think that the system is using the mender-modified version of u-boot or it for some reason isn’t getting modified.

The yocto build currently has MENDER_UBOOT_AUTO_CONFIGURE enabled and like I said I have followed the listed steps for U-Boot integration from here:
https://docs.mender.io/3.2/system-updates-yocto-project/board-integration/bootloader-support/u-boot

If anyone has seen an issue like this or has any insight, I would greatly appreciate your help.
Thanks

Hi @pgthompson24!