Mender on IMX8 + Yocto

I’m working on getting Mender going on an IMX8 setup. I’m by no means an expert on Yocto, IMX8, or Mender. :slight_smile:

I have an image building that, when loaded, does appear to have Mender running on it (systemctl status mender-client).

However, from the “Integration Checklist”, I can’t get fw_printenv to work.

I think it’s conflicting with upstream board stuff, like the location of the u-boot environment variables.

In general, does it make sense for the upstream board stuff to conform to Mender, or Mender to conform to the upstream board stuff?

I am using these which is where things were stored BEFORE going to Mender:

MENDER_UBOOT_ENV_STORAGE_DEVICE_OFFSET_1 = “0x3F0000”
BOOTENV_SIZE = “0x2000”

However, I still see a /etc/fw_env.config of:

/dev/mmcblk0 0x3F0000 0x2000
/dev/mmcblk0 0x1000000 0x2000

Where is that second one coming from, and how do I turn that off? I’m not sure my board supports it.

Thank you for your help! Tagging @TheYoctoJester as he’s been a large help in these forums and is def. a guru of Mender in Yocto! :slight_smile:

Hi @zapados, YoctoJester is on vacation at this time, so I will try to help you. I have a couple of questions for you:

1. Have you taken a look at this thread? Is it something that could be helpful to you?
  2. What error do you get when you run fw_printenv?
  3. Which steps did you follow to integrate u-boot with Yocto and Mender?

Cheers,
Jana

1 Like

Hi Jana,

Thank you for your help!

1. I’m not to that step yet - just trying to get fw_printenv working reliably for the integration checklist.
  2. An update here - I can get fw_printenv to work, but I need to manually comment out the second line (the u-boot environment redundant location I think?).

root@xxx:~# cat /etc/fw_env.config
/dev/mmcblk0 0x3F0000 0x2000
#/dev/mmcblk0 0x1000000 0x2000
root@xxx:~#

When that’s not commented out, I get:

root@xxx:~# fw_printenv
Cannot read environment, using default