Issues with the PICO-PI-IMX7

Hi Joris,

Thanks a lot for this tutorial, it helped me make my first steps in Mender and some of the Technexion/Yocto related things. I have followed all the steps but I think I have made a mistake somewhere. I am a beginner so hopefully I can explain the issue clearly.

After the last step (dd) I have tried to reset the board but it did not boot.

I then put the board back in serial mode to repeat the imx_usb steps. After loading u-boot.img with imx_usb, the autoboot routine actually booted the image. Another reset, but no boot (no activity on the serial console).
Now I have repeated the above again (imx_usb steps), and also run the dfu-util commands again.
After putting the board back in EMMC mode, everything booted automatically.

I have started from scratch and could repeat this behaviour.
It’s almost like writing the sdimg with dd did something to the u-boot area in memory.

So my steps to get it to boot were:
(serial mode) imx_usb -> dfu -> (emmc mode) -> ums -> dd -> (serial mode) -> imx_usb -> dfu -> (emmc mode)
I must have done something wrong, and hopefully one of you could teach me what it is.

If you need more information please let me know.

Thanks in advance!

It’s a pleasure for the tutorial, it’s one of my favorite boards.
For the steps:
(serial mode) imx_usb -> ums -> dd -> dfu

In fact the SPL and the U-Boot are stored on the emmc. So you have to flash the rootfs first and then update the SPL and U-Boot via dfu.

It’s a mistake on my part I encourage you to contribute by modifying the doc

Hi Joris,

Thanks for your reply. Your suggestion worked (for thud).

I could not get DHCP working on eth0 on thud so I switched to sumo.
Now the above suggestion does not work anymore and I can only get the board to boot through imx_usb and then let autoboot do it’s thing. I can write SPL and u-boot with dfu after ums but no boot.

DHCP works now though :wink: