Why is my device polling localhost?

Hello,

I am new to Mender and trying to create my first test deployment using a single-file artifact and a Ubuntu server test device.

I have taken these steps successfully:

• Deployed Mender to EKS and ensured it is accessible from my Ubuntu server
  • Created and uploaded my single-file artifact to Mender
  • Registered my Ubuntu server as a device with Mender by installing mender-client4 using apt and entering my Mender server info

I started the deployment of my single-file artifact through the UI to my Ubuntu device but it failed, even though the file was indeed deployed to my Ubuntu device.

I sshed into the Ubuntu device and ran: sudo journalctl -u mender-updated | tail

This is what I saw (I have removed IDs and timestamps for brevity):

mender-update: severity=info name="Global" msg="Running Mender client 4.0.4"
mender-update: severity=info name="Global" msg="Deployment with ID 8d3f0784-93ad-41ec-ab54-756ba0a7d69f started."
mender-update: severity=info name="Global" msg="Sending status update to server"
mender-update: severity=error name="Global" msg="Request to push status data failed: PUT http://127.0.0.1:36069/api/devices/v1/deployments/device/deployments/8d3f0784-93ad-41ec-ab54-756ba0a7d69f/status: "
mender-update: severity=error name="Global" msg="Could not send deployment status: bad version: PUT http://127.0.0.1:36069/api/devices/v1/deployments/device/deployments/8d3f0784-93ad-41ec-ab54-756ba0a7d69f/status: "
mender-update: severity=info name="Global" msg="Installing artifact..."
mender-update: severity=info name="Global" msg="Sending status update to server"
mender-update: severity=error name="Global" msg="Request to push status data failed: PUT http://127.0.0.1:36069/api/devices/v1/deployments/device/deployments/8d3f0784-93ad-41ec-ab54-756ba0a7d69f/status: "
mender-update: severity=info name="Global" msg="Retrying status update after 60 seconds"