Using Beaglebone Black internal eMMC

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Mender and would like to try it on my Beaglebone Black board. I’ve read the topic on image generation, however, if I understood correctly, it will be booted off the SD card. Is it possible to flash the internal eMMC storage of BBB with Mender image?

Hey @azarubkin!

I haven’t tested it, but as far as I know, it’s pretty easy. Beaglebone Black assigns storage devices depending on whether the Boot Switch button is held down or not. If it’s unpressed, then the internal eMMC becomes the boot device. It’s possible you may need to switch some storage variables as well, but this is pretty easy if needed.

Thank you @kacf . Could you please direct me to where I can find some info on the topic?
What are my steps?

The forum topic says I need at least 8 GB card, while the internal storage is 4 GB. How do I partition it? Can I just boot off the SD card and run some tool to fulfill the task of moving Mender image to eMMC? Or should I do a sequence of steps manually?

The page that you linked to is the primary source, and the mender-convert tool, which it refers to, does the partitioning for you. For flashing the eMMC I believe you will have to resort to Beagleboard’s own pages, though I think it is as simple as a write (dd) to the storage device.

I think the space requirement is due to the size of the original image from Beagleboard. Last time I checked they didn’t offer an image which was small enough to use dual rootfs on a 4GB card. For this you will probably have to do some manual work: Boot the original image (no Mender) using SD card, find packages on the system you don’t need, and uninstall them until you have maximum around 1.5G or so, then dump the SD card to your computer, and then us a tool like gparted to shrink the filesystem and partition. Then you can use mender-convert on this image afterwards to convert it to a Mender image.