Large persistent data partition without large image file

Hi.

I’m just getting started with mender and try to convert the installation of a x64 host.
For that I followed INTEL NUC x86-64 Ubuntu 18.04 with a few small changes.

My main difference is that I use a 256GB SSD onto which I would like to have the following partition table.
512MB boot/EFI partition
20GB rootfs A partition
20GB rootfs B partition
~200GB data partition

I used the docker-mender-convert script to generate an image with this setup, but was surprised that I actually had to create an image with almost 250GB of data, as the data partition is basically empty at that time.

My next approach was to set MENDER_STORAGE_DEVICE to something like 50GB to get a smaller image file. I was hoping that during the first boot the growing of the partition would allow it to fill the rest of the SSD on its own. This didn’t work however.

So, my question is, can I somehow achieve a small disk image file and automatically resize the /data partition and regrow the filesystem on it afterwards?

I’m especially wondering how I can do this with as low of a risk as possible that a future update would try to rewrite the partition table.

Have a look at mender-growfs-data

1 Like

Yes, like @elipsion says, the data partition is grown on boot, to fill the available space, and this is enabled by default, here
and here
:grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

Thank you @elipsion and @oleorhagen .
Yes, I noticed this as well. In the log files I also noticed that the filesystem was grown to the full size of the partition. That was not really the problem.

My concern is that I want to have a data partition that will be resized (partition size and filesystem) to the full size of the SSD I have in the machine.
This is for now 256GB. So I want boot to be 512MB, root A 20GB, root B 20GB and data whatever the rest.